17  And He came and preached the glad tidings of peace to you who were afar off and [peace] to those who were near. 18  For it is through Him that we both [whether far off or near] now have an introduction (access) by one [Holy] Spirit to the Father [so that we are able to approach Him].19  Therefore you are no longer outsiders (exiles, migrants, and aliens, excluded from the rights of citizens), but you now share citizenship with the saints (God’s own peopapart for Himself); and you belong to God’s [own] household.20  You are built upon the foundation of the apostles and prophets with Christ Jesus Himself the chief Cornerstone.

Jesus came to us to make us insiders, citizens of his home. He provided the Holy Spirit to us. Through the Holy Spirit, we have access and are able to approach God. His plan is perfect. There is nothing lacking in what he did, but provided a perfect plan. He thought of everything that we would need ahead of time. Because He is God, his plan is perfect. He doesn’t know about mistakes. He makes no mistakes.

Before Christ, we were outsiders, aliens to his ways, excluded from the inheritance of what God’s children could enjoy. Now we are able to share in His love as we are made a member of His household. We actually are members of God’s house, just as my children are members of my house. They are loved by me unlike those children that are not mine. They are accepted by me and are loved unconditionally. Nothing they do can remove my unconditional love. No matter what they do, they will always have my best. No matter what I do, I will always have God’s best. Just as my kids do not earn my love by the things they do, I cannot perform actions that cause God to love me more. He just loves me because I am one of His children. The good works I do are not because I am trying to earn God’s love just as the good actions my children perform earn my love.

 

