17  May Christ through your faith [actually] dwell (settle down, abide, make His permanent home) in your hearts! May you be rooted deep in love and founded securely on love,18  That you may have the power and be strong to apprehend and grasp with all the saints [God’s devoted people, the experience of that love] what is the breadth and length and height and depth [of it];19  [That you may really come] to know [practically, through experience for yourselves] the love of Christ, which far surpasses mere knowledge [without experience]; that you may be filled [through all your being] unto all the fullness of God [may have the richest measure of the divine Presence, and become a body wholly filled and flooded with God Himself]!20  Now to Him Who, by (in consequence of) the [action of His] power that is at work within us, is able to [carry out His purpose and] do super abundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]–21  To Him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations forever and ever. Amen (so be it).

V17 Christ, through our faith, makes residence in our hearts. What a concept. He actually comes to live with us. Making Him more than just a friend, or associate. He is actually one of our family. And He lives in our hearts! What a concept to understand the ramifications of this. The maker of the world, the God of love actually living in our hearts. He wants everything good for us, He provides peace that we cannot even understand, His will is perfect in every way, He provides joy throughout anything we go through, and He lives in our hearts!

V17 Paul mentions that we can be rooted deep in love and founded securely in love. That is my heart’s desire. I want everything I do to be based on love. If I do that, it surely will alter everything I do. I am so far from that right now. Many things I do is not based on love. I get mad, I try to get even, I do not show compassion to others. I have so far to go, but my heart wants to do it. God looks at the heart, always. He acknowledges the sin, and the sin causes separation, but he looks at the heart.

V18 Paul wants the Ephesians to have the power and strength to know the breadth, length, height, and depth of the love of Christ. What a sentence. Paul knew God’s love to be able to write this. He desired that the Ephesians knew the love of Christ, and attempted to describe the level of what God’s love was. God’s love covers all. He goes on and says that the love of Christ goes beyond our knowledge. We can NEVER completely understand God’s love. It is beyond this world. It is deeper than our most intimate time with God. It exceeds our greatest moment with God. The closer we get to God, the more His love changes every part of us, because He is God!!

V19 Paul mentions that he desires the reader to be filled with the fullness of God. We, as believers can be filled with the fullness of God, the richest measure of the divine presence. We can become people that are wholly filled and flooded with God himself! What wound that look like in our world, to be wholly filled with God. It would alter everything we do. Think about it. God, the God of love, completely flooding our bodies. It tells me that I have so far to go, but it isn’t a disappointing concept. It makes me excited to know that the God of love desires to become more and more ingrained in my life. While I have so far to go, I desire so much more of Him in my daily life. Sin does satisfy for a moment, but the thought of following God makes me so much more satisfied and at peace than anything I could do apart from Him.

