1  I THEREFORE, the prisoner for the Lord, appeal to and beg you to walk (lead a life) worthy of the [divine] calling to which you have been called [with behavior that is a credit to the summons to God’s service,2  Living as becomes you] with complete lowliness of mind (humility) and meekness (unselfishness, gentleness, mildness), with patience, bearing with one another and making allowances because you love one another.3  Be eager and strive earnestly to guard and keep the harmony and oneness of [and produced by] the Spirit in the binding power of peace.4  [There is] one body and one Spirit–just as there is also one hope [that belongs] to the calling you received–

V2 Paul encourages us to live with complete lowliness of mind (humility), and meekness (unselfishness, gentleness, mildness), with patience, bearing one another and making allowances because of love.

What would this look like in my daily life? Blows my mind to go there. There are MANY times during the day where these attributes do not apply to my life. It is almost like I would need to constantly keep my thoughts toward God to be able to have these characteristics in my life at all times. I believe that is where Paul is coming from. It is a change of the heart in your daily life. It is about thinking of others before you think of yourself. I am far from that.

There are so many opportunities to put others first in my life. I often think of myself when it comes to driving situations. l think of myself when I feel I am not getting my way. If I stop and really think … I need to put down myself and put others before me when I believe I have been wronged. THAT IS TOUGH! Seems like it is too much for me to do, well, it is. Only through Christ is it able to happen.

How do I get there? Only by allowing God to continually have a larger and larger part of my life … and that comes through daily time with Him. Not just time to mark off the list, but true intimate relationship time.

I am already sensing that the more time I spend with Him, the more I want to. This morning, for example. I woke with no alarm. I immediately thought about God, started praying for my family, then the guys in the mens group, etc. I got up and started this. That is where I want my mornings to be. With God first. Why? He directs my paths. His ways are above my ways. His love in my heart will guide me and direct me through the Holy Spirit in my heart. I want more of Him in my life. I feel that He is replacing my desires more and more.

V3 This mentions what I am talking about. Obviously Paul had the same desire as I am having. He says to the Ephesians to be eager and to strive earnestly to guard and keep the harmony and oneness of the Spirit in the binding power of peace.

I need to continue to strive to keep the harmony and oneness of the Spirit. I so want this desire to remain in my life. Not because I look better for myself, but because of what God can do through me when I am in oneness with His Spirit.

I have in the past struggled with pride. I want to lift myself up in front of others. Pride has been my downfall. I so want to guard against pride in my life. I am quite scared of it returning. Do I pray against pride in my life? I don’t believe so. If I continue putting God first, then I believe God will take care of the pride in my life. Again, His ways are perfect. By continuing to follow God, I will automatically see myself as lower than others. God has a way of altering my heart when I truly follow Him. Altering my heart in ways that is impossible for me to do.

God, please continue to change my heart. Continue to make me view myself as lower than others. Help me to serve you with my whole heart, daily. Continue to chisel away my selfishness in every part of my life so that you will grow to be more and more in my heart. I want more of you. I will never have enough. You have done so much a work in my heart, but I see I have so far to go. I see what you have done so far, and that only makes me want you more and more. I love you in my life. I love the way you change me in every way.

