29  Let no foul or polluting language, nor evil word nor unwholesome or worthless talk [ever] come out of your mouth, but only such [speech] as is good and beneficial to the spiritual progress of others, as is fitting to the need and the occasion, that it may be a blessing and give grace (God’s favor) to those who hear it.30  And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God [do not offend or vex or sadden Him], by Whom you were sealed (marked, branded as God’s own, secured) for the day of redemption (of final deliverance through Christ from evil and the consequences of sin).31  Let all bitterness and indignation and wrath (passion, rage, bad temper) and resentment (anger, animosity) and quarreling (brawling, clamor, contention) and slander (evil-speaking, abusive or blasphemous language) be banished from you, with all malice (spite, ill will, or baseness of any kind).32  And become useful and helpful and kind to one another, tenderhearted (compassionate, understanding, loving-hearted), forgiving one another [readily and freely], as God in Christ forgave you.

V29 Do not allow any polluting language, unwholesome or worthless talk come out of your mouth. This is a tough one. Actually quite tough. There are many times I have unwholesome talk. Talk that does not uplift anyone. Again, this is quite difficult to do on my own. It comes down to having a close relationship with God, which comes through spending quality time with Him daily.

V30 Do not grieve the Holy Spirit. This is crucial to pay attention to. The Holy Spirit is not a forceful presence in our lives. It is a still, small voice in our spirits. Because of this, when we sin, it quietly sits back and becomes less productive in our lives. He does not communicate outright when we are in sin, but just becomes less productive. That is the way God is. He does not force Himself on us. God gives us the right to sin. It is our choice. When we choose ways other than His ways, He does not say anything, but because of His love, allows us to do what we choose. He does, at that time, step back and allows us separation because of the choices we make. These choices of sin draws us away from intimacy with Him. I sense this quite effectively in my life, and it makes a difference in my daily life.

V31 Let all bitterness and indignation and wrath and resentment and quarreling and slander be banished from you, with all malice. This tells me that I should not allow anger in my life. I need to let things go, just as Jesus did. It has no place in my life. I have some ways to go here. I am not a man of anger. I do not allow things to get to me, but there are times when I am not treated as I think I should that I have anger with others. If I follow Christ, I would easily forgive others when I am treated as I believe I should not be.

V32 Become useful and helpful and kind to one another, tenderhearted, compassionate, understanding, loving-hearted, forgiving others readily and freely as Christ forgave you. This describes my heart. I am far from this, but it is my heart to become more and more like this. I need to look beyond the circumstances at hand and see through the eyes of Christ.

God, become more of a part of my daily life. Show me places in my life where I do not measure up with your standard. Your standard is where I want to live each moment of my life. I have so far to go. I see myself as still being selfish at times, thinking that I should be treated differently than I am treated. It is because of selfishness that I think this way. Change me to be more like you so that I reflect Christ in every aspect. Your love is perfect and you desire me to be more like you. Change me so I can do more of your work in my life.

