25  Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave Himself up for her,26  So that He might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the Word,27  That He might present the church to Himself in glorious splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such things [that she might be holy and faultless].28  Even so husbands should love their wives as [being in a sense] their own bodies. He who loves his own wife loves himself.

In these scriptures, Paul is speaking directly to the husbands, and how they are to act in the marriage realm. V25 is enough for me to work on my entire life. Christ was the epitome of sacrifice and love. His sacrifice for “the church”, or us was complete. There is no selfishness in Christ.

Love my wife as Christ loved the church. Think more highly of her than myself at all times. Put myself and my needs below her needs. Sacrifice for her before thinking about myself. Have compassion on her and reach out regardless of desire to help her, and make her successful.

This is indeed difficult to daily achieve. I have so far to go in this area.

God’s plan is completely perfect. He understands that if a husband does love his wife correctly, there will be unity in the relationship. For if the wife is being loved as she should, it will be natural for her to respect him, and a man needs respect. This is not a theory that may work. This is God’s plan in the marriage relationship. It will work in time. This is a principle that Paul is disclosing.

Lord, help me to continually put myself below the needs of my wife. Help me to continually change and become more and more of a man of God that you desire me to be. Show me areas where I am failing to live up to your standard and by your small quiet voice, nudge me and let me know the path that is your perfect path for my life. Psalm 32:8, David says that the Lord will guide you along the best pathway for your life and that he will advise and watch over you. I want to go down the best path for my life. Not the path that I believe is the best path, but the way that the Lord believes is best.

