Welcome problems as perspective-lifters. My children tend to sleepwalk through their days until they bump into an obstacle that stymies them. If you encounter a problem with no immediate solution, your response to that situation will take you either up or down. You can lash out at the difficulty, resenting it and feeling sorry for yourself. This will take you down into a pit of self-pity. Alternatively, the problem can be a ladder, enabling you to climb up and see your life from My perspective. Viewed from above, the obstacle that frustrated you is only a light and momentary trouble. Once your perspective has been ieightened, you can look away from the problem altogether. Turn toward Me, and see the Light of My  Presence shining upon you.

2 Cor 4:16-18 – That is why we never give up. Though our bodies are dying, our spirits are being renewed every day. For our present troubles are small and won’t last very long. Yet they produce for us a glory that vastly outweighs them and will last forever!  So we don’t look at the troubles we can see now; rather, we fix our gaze on things that cannot be seen. For the things we see now will soon be gone, but the things we cannot see will last forever.

Psalm 89:15 – Happy are those who hear the joyful call to worship, for they will walk in the light of your presence, Lord.

If I could only do what the author says. My problems usually overtake my thoughts and I am unable to see “above” them. It  may be because I do not have an intimacy with God that allows me to see His presence in every area of my life. I tend to spend time with God in the morning, and go about my day, just working and such. I do not bring God into my “real” life. I believe that is what the author is saying.

Have faith in God. Know that He is there with you in all your decisions, troubles, anxiety, failures, broken-hearted feelings, hurts, etc. He is there when you are having difficulties. He wants to come on the scene and give you an “aerial” view, but He does not force himself.  He will not open the door. You must open the door and let Him on  the scene of your life. Then, He will give you the peace in the midst of whatever is going on.

Paul says in 2 Corinthians that our troubles are small and won’t  last. They are seen that way only if we look at the troubles from Christ’s perspective. Selfishness causes us to view them differently, because WE are being hurt, and are troubled because of our difficulties. If we see our daily troubles in an eternal view (not easy to do), we will understand that no matter what we are going through, the big picture is a different story. God is there, and will mold our present situation to build us up and cause us to be stronger and provide peace where naturally there is none.

