“Pray continually, asking My Spirit to take charge of the details of this day.”

Currently, I do not allow Christ’s Spirit to take charge of the details of the day. I still try to do it myself. I need to consciously give my day to Christ in the morning. This must become a daily occurrence. It is a control/faith issue with me. I believe I can do a better job than Christ, I have more faith in my own abilities than faith in Christ’s. Sounds dumb, but if I didn’t believe it, I would not act this way.

She says: “Give your mind a break from planning and trying to anticipate what will happen.” So, when I give my day over to Christ, I can rest in the peace that He is in control. So, how does “giving my day over to Christ actually look like?”

In the morning when I wake, and spending some quiet time with God, close my eyes, and repeat this prayer:

Lord, with or without you, I have a day in front of me. There are going to be high points in this day, and low points. I have an agenda today that I need to take care of, some pressing matters. I have a choice of how to walk through this day. Regularly, I would begin attacking my agenda and, under my own strength, walk through the events that unfold. Today, I want to do something different. I want to remove myself from the control of the day, and replace you in the driver’s seat. I want you to guide me, and remind me that you have it all under control. I don’ t want to worry about what happens today. I desire to know more and more that you care for me, and will work everything that happens today to the better for Your Glory. I release my control of this day and give it to you.”

By doing this daily, God will have permission, and an open door to work through my day and I won’t stand in the way.

1 Thessalonians 5:17 – Never stop praying.

Psalm 62:5 – Let all that I am wait quietly before God, for my hope is in Him.

