Thank Me for the very things that are troubling you. You are on the brink of rebellion, precariously close to shaking your fist in My Face. You are tempted to indulge in just a little complaining about My treatment of you. But once you step over that line, torrents of rage and self-pity can sweep you away. The best protection against this indulgence is thanksgiving. It is impossible to thank Me and cuse Me at the same time.

Thanking Me for trials will feel awkward and contrived at  first. But if you persist, your thankful words, prayed in faith, will eventually make a difference in your heart. Thankfulness awakens you to My Presence, which overshadows all of your problems.  – Sarah Young

I usually quote the part of the devotion that hits me hard, but in today’s entry, the entire thing hit me! This has the power to REALLY make an impact in my life.

I’m not sure about you, but I do not normally have a spirit of thankfulness when trials come my way. It is something that is far from my thoughts, but at the same time, I believe that it has the power to make a definite impact in how I handle trials.

What is needed is the ability to see God at work in EVERYTHING that happens in my life. This comes only after you KNOW God. It takes an understanding that whatever happens in your life, God has His hand on your life, and will work out things for your benefit, in time. (Romans 8:28 – “And we know that God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to His purpose for them.”) So no matter what you are going through, God will take it and work it out for your benefit.

The problem is that it will take time. Time is something that we filter everything through, but we must remember that time is not something that is a parameter within God’s world. He is timeless. Time is not a parameter taken into account when God is working in our lives. This is difficult for us, but we must have faith in what God is doing in our lives. He will come through.

As a matter of fact, remember your greatest, troubling time you have had in your life. Did it make you stronger in the end? Did it cause you to grow, in time? Did it draw you closer, or “wake you up” to your need of God’s presence in your life?

In my life, my greatest hardships have my greatest memories of when I was closest to God’s presence.

I believe Sarah knew this, and that is the backdrop to her writing today’s entry. I am far from thanking God in hard times, or troubles in my life. The fact remains though, thanking God when trouble hits will draw me into His presence.

