My Children make a pastime of judging one another – and themselves. I am the only capable Judge, and you have acquitted by my blood … If you live close to Me and absorb My Word, the Holy Spirit will guide and correct you as needed.

Luke 6:37 – Just as you want me to do to you, do unto them likewise.

Romans 8:1 – There is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.

Today, Sarah takes a somewhat unbeaten path. She discusses the practice of judging another person. She mentions that only one can judge righteously, and that is the Lord, for He is the only capable Judge.

Interestingly enough, one of the scriptures she lists in Romans 8:1. I wonder why she would combine the act of judging another with condemnation? Could it be that when we jude, we are also condemning them? When judging, we are playing “mini-god” if you will. We are assuming that we understand what cannot possibly understand — the persons heart.

Also, when we judge another, we act as if we are better than we are, but we know that we all have skeletons in our closet and would be embarrassed to have them laid out before everyone.

The ability to not judge another is one of the most difficult goals in my life. I judge all the time. Usually small judgements, but nevertheless, I am putting myself above them for that short amount of time.

For this devotion, I’ll chalk it up to: “The more I remain in His Presence, the more change I will see in my life that will allow me to see others through the eyes of Jesus.”

 

…ever seeking His Presence

