Relax in My Peaceful Presence. Do not bring performance pressures into our sacred space of communion. Though I am Lord of Lords, and King of kinds, I also  desire to be your intimate Friend. I know the worst about you, but see the best in you. I long for you to trust Me enough to be fully yourself with Me. When you are real with Me, I am able to bring our the best in you; the very gifts I have planted in your soul. Relax, and enjoy our friendship.

John 15:13-15 – There is no greater love than to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. You are my friends if you do what I command. I no longer call you slaves, because a master doesn’t confide in his slaves. Now you are my friends, since I have told you everything the Father told me.

I think about my time in the mornings and  wonder if I do indeed relax. Honestly, I still somewhat struggle with “being quiet” before God. It has gotten easier just to be quiet, turning off all of my senses. It no longer feels weird. But do I relax like I would relax with a close friend? Probably not like He would want.

What does Christ want from my quiet time each morning … intimate communion. He wants me to know Him. Just as Jesus called His disciples His friends in John 15, he wants me to know that He is my friend.  Though now, he has the ability to utilize the Holy Spirit to communicate to our hearts. I believe Jesus wants me to just slow life down a bit each day, to prioritize things, and to make the main thing the main thing.

If I am pissed off, I should allow God to know it, and I should not hide emotions from Him. He know anyway. Tammy has said “God can handle our R-rated prayers”. I need to be real, just as if I were talking with a close friend. If I am fake, or superficial, then that reflects my lack of trust in Him, and that I truly do not intimately know who He is.

