“God’s sufficiency is only good one day at a time”. I guess I had never really thought about the sufficiency being available for the current day only. So, when I worry about tomorrow, I am outside of God’s ability to assist me. I am on my own.

God has never planned on us carrying the weight of tomorrow. While this is quite easy to type, it is difficult to acknowledge that most worries are not of today, and are about the time after that. How do you simply “not worry” about the future? It has to become a habit. Something that, eventually, you do not need to remember, but happens automatically. Until it is a habit, making a conscious effort to  remember that issues of the current day are different from issues of the future.

I have a ways to go in this area. The problem is even when I remember I should not be worrying about the future, it is difficult just to “give it to God”. There is a holding on that makes me feel comfortable as well as an inability to stop the process.

As usual, the bottom line here deals with “The Presence” in my life. Honestly, it all boils down to that. The more of God’s Presence is there, the more I will be able to dictate my emotions, due to His assistance. His Presence remains through quiet time, determination to prioritize time with Him daily, etc… (you know). This is another call to value intimacy with God, as well as another reminder that your life will run better because His Presence is the grease that lubricates our motor.

Matthew 6:34 – Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Psalm 62:8 (NKJV) – Trust in Him at all times, you people; Pour out your heart before Him;  God is a refuge for us.  Selah

