Spend time with me for the pure pleasure of being in my company. I can brighten up the dullest of gray days.

I enjoy spending time with Christ. I am now in the habit of doing it daily. I didn’t arrive here for the first 29 years of being a Christian. It was a chore – not all of the time, but most. Something to check off the “to do” list. This year that all changed. Spending time with Christ became one of the highlights of my day, something I looked forward to. It isn’t that I do not skip days, that isn’t the issue. It is my whole attitude of carving out the best time in my day for Him.

When I skip time with Him, all day I am remembering that I did not do it. I don’t feel condemnation though. I feel that I’m cheating myself out of something that brings delight.

I have a new understanding of my relationship with Christ. He love me, not because of my actions, but because of who He is, and who I am. I am his child. He loves me in the similar way that I love my children. Their actions do not change my love of them. They may do things that cause me to be disappointed with them, but NEVER do their actions change my unconditional love I have for each of them.

I love where I am, and have been here for about 5 months, so it is safe to say that it is a “habit”. Not sure what got me here though. What has changed in my life to push me toward more intimacy with Him?

One of the things is a daily devotion called “Jesus Calling” by Sarah Young. It is the quotes at the beginning of most of my blog posts. This lady simply “got it”. In her devotional, she has opened up something that I never realized: Jesus desires us to stop and have quiet time. That is it. That is the difference. Quiet time – before that devotional – meant something different to me. It meant reading the bible, journaling, praying, etc. It was time set apart for Him.

Now it means something different. It means shutting down my senses and just closing my eyes and being QUIET. Believe me, this is not an easy thing to do, and I am no where near where I want to be in this area. Right now I am around 10 minutes of doing this, but I believe that there is advantages to do this longer. It is difficult because I am so used to “doing”. Doing something all of the time. There lies the problem. In true quiet time, you stop the doing and just concentrate on God. It allows Him access to you in ways that is not possible when you are “doing” things.

Another thing that changed is aligning my career with something that completely utilizes my natural and spiritual gifts. It frees me to enjoy my work, and thus changes everything. I feel that I am in “God’s will” finally, in my career.

No matter the things that got me here, I am growing in my relationship with my savior, daily. It is easily the best time in my life, and it is only the beginning of things to come.

We serve a wonderful God. That sentence is so mundane in reflection to the actual reality of the sentence. He is more than we can believe. He is perfect in every way, and loves us more than we can ever grasp. I cannot understand those who live this life without an intimate relationship with Him. For He provides everything that we seek in our lives. I could go on and on about this, but understand that no matter what I type, my heart reflects so much more.

