Do everything in dependance on Me. The desire to act independently – apart from Me – springs from the root of pride. Self-sufficiency is subtle, insinuating its way into your thoughts and actions without you realizing it. But apart from Me, you can do nothing: that is, nothing of eternal value. My deepest desire is for you to learn to depend on Me in every situation. I move heaven and earth to accomplish this purpose, but you must collaborate with Me in this training.

How I desire to do everything in dependance on God. What does that mean in my daily life, though? That means, first of all, that I THINK of God is every situation. I then realize I have a choice: choose God’s path, or choose my own. I am not even there yet. I don’t think of God during my day to allow me to depend on Him in everything.

How do I become more dependent on God? A couple of ideas come to mind:

  • Spend time with him daily. This is probably the most critical aspect of becoming more dependent on God. This time cannot be just time set apart, but it has to be more than that. I believe that you need to allow God access to your heart, and life. You need to daily open yourself to Him, doing things that allow you to stand by and not get in the way. Quiet time. Time where you shut down your senses and just let God have access.
  • Memorize scripture. Psalm 119:11 says that I do not sin because I have hid God’s Word in my heart. I believe a great way to hide the Word in your heart is to memorize it. This allows His Spirit to bring up the Word whenever necessary.
  • Live for Him. If you are constantly choosing your own path in life, then you are not deserving to have God’s presence in your life. To follow is to obey, plain and simple. It doesn’t take much intuition to understand that God will not look favorable upon a child that is not doing what He desires. On the other hand, think of his attitude towards his children when they desire to follow. Notice I said, “desire”. It isn’t about the actions as much as it is the heart.

I desire to depend on God in my life more. It does not come easily, because I live in a world that most definitely doesn’t value such. It is possible though. There are some things that have to change first. I have come a ways but have very far to go. I have realized that God desires me to serve Him because it is the best thing for ME! He has my best interests. The more I follow Him, the better off everything is in my life.

