REST IN ME, MY CHILD. This time devoted to Me is meant to be peaceful, not stressful. You don’t have to perform in order to receive My Love. I have boundless, unconditional Love for you.

How it grieves Me to see My children working for Love: trying harder and harder, yet never feeling good enough to be loved. Be careful that your devotion to Me does not become another form of works. I want you to come into My Presence joyfully and confidently. You have nothing to fear, for you wear My own righteousness. Gaze into My eyes, and you will see no condemnation, only Love and delight in the one I see. Be blessed as My Face shines radiantly upon you, giving you Peace.

ZEPHANIAH 3 : 17 “The LORD your God is with you, he is mighty to save. He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with
his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

Young, Sarah (2004). Jesus Calling: Seeking Peace in His Presence (p. 270). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

Working for God’s love, how I did this for so many years! Without even realizing it. I would spend time with God in the morning because I knew it was what I need to do. If I didn’t do it, I felt guilty, like I’m not doing my time, or my performance to “earn” His love for me. I probably would not have even agreed to this if you would have asked me, and consciously I thought I had the right motives. Deep inside, maybe unconsciously, it was performance to earn God’s respect, or favor.

Not sure exactly when it changed, but it definitely has. Probably about a year ago, and I’ve been a Christian for over 25 years.

I am accepted and loved deeply by God no matter what my actions are today. If I sin (rather when I sin) today, there is separation from God until I am brought into right standing with Him once again through the asking of forgiveness and a repentant heart. NOTHING I do today will move God to feel differently about me. He already accepts me and cares greatly for me.

I’ve said this before, but it bears repeating: “I love my kids no matter what they do, or don’t do.” That reflects how God loves me. What can take away my love for my kids? Stupid question. Not worth answering. What if they work really hard at school to make all “As”, or work to succeed in their sports, or their chores? Will that change how much I love them? See how ridiculous the whole notion of works are? Just doesn’t make sense, yet every one of us are guilty in believing that God will accept us because of what we do for Him.

He loves us as is reflected in the Zephaniah scripture above.

God, change my heart today to accept your unchanging love for me. Help me to understand you in ways I have never. I pray for your presence in my life today. Help me to stop at every crossroad today to look for your way and walk in it. I am once again amazed at who you are. I love you.

