Waiting … why is that so important to wait? And wait quietly … God desires us to wait quietly.

Psalm 5:3 – “In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.

I believe Sarah it it just right in today’s devotion when she says rushing keeps your heart earthbound. Think for a moment about the characteristics of God. He is eternal, He knows no bounds of time. Why would we expect Him to communicate with Him if we are busy? When we are busy, we are concerned about OUR stuff; whatever that is. The ONLY way to reconnect is to put aside your busyness and wait quietly, otherwise what are we doing? We are thinking about our tasks, stuff, etc. God knew what He was doing when he led David to pen Psalm 5:3. I need to hear that, and listen closely.

Waiting quietly is something that is weird for me. I am GOING all the time. From the moment I awake until I sleep, I have a lot going on. In the mornings, I wait quietly for 5-10 minutes, but sometimes it doesn’t come easy. I tend to fall asleep during the quiet time if I didn’t get enough sleep the night before. If not that, I find that my mind has drifted so far, I can’t remember how I got there.

That doesn’t matter, I know that God is in the quiet waiting. I know that I need to give Him my best time, and GIVE IT TO HIM! David move out of the way, and concentrate on God. He blesses that commitment.

Sarah says to ask the Spirit to quiet your mind. Good idea! Haven’t tried that.

 

