I LOVE YOU with an everlasting Love. The human mind cannot comprehend My constancy. Your emotions flicker and falter in the face of varying circumstances, and you tend to project your fickle feelings onto Me. Thus, you do not benefit fully from My unfailing Love.

You need to look beyond the flux of circumstances and discover Me gazing lovingly back at you. This awareness of My Presence strengthens you, as you receive and respond to My Love. I am the same yesterday, today, and forever! Let My Love flow into you continually. Your need for Me is as constant as the outflow of My Love to you.

Young, Sarah (2004). Jesus Calling: Seeking Peace in His Presence (p. 295). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

Sarah mentions that we find it difficult for us to truly see Christ as someone who constantly pours His love on us. My question is: “How do we change this?” I have a hardtime understanding Christ’s love. I receive it, but it is no where near my capabilities of giving love to others.

I believe the ONLY way for us to grow in our comprehension of God’s love is to continue to spend quality time with Him. By quality time, I mean the best time of your day, given to Him, quiet time, learning His Word.

Romans 12:2 will come into play at some point, and God will continue to transform you by the renewing of your mind.

That is what we as believers are all after, right? We desire to truly comprehend God’s love, grace, longsuffering, etc, etc. By spending time continually getting to know Him, we allow Him to change us. I’m not talking about simply reading the Bible, it must be more than that:

  • David talks about hiding the word in his heart that he might not sin against God (Psalm 119:11).
  • Blessed is the man that walks not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor stands in the way of sinners, nor sits in the seat of the scornful.But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that brings forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatever he does shall prosper. (Psalm 1:1-3)

I believe in order for God to change your heart, you must do what the scriptures mention. God is not going to barge in and modify your thinking unless that is what you truly desire. Remember, He is a God that stands at the door and knocks (Revelations 3:20). He does not overcome our will at any time. We need to listen for His small voice and do our part.

We have the ability to grasp the most solid foundation, and build our lives on it. No matter what happens in our life, we have a solid foundation that is unshakable. The world will see this and wonder where we get our peace from, how we can not worry considering the circumstances. At those times, we can share Christ’s love, because our lives yell, our mouths only tell.

