Tags

, , , ,

Today’s devotion is something that I have talked about many times in the past. I have often said that many people raise the need to attend church every week, and pay much less attention to what matters much more: intimacy with Christ.

I’m not saying that going to church is not important, but it pales in comparison to retaining a healthy connection with the Lord daily.

This is how Sarah says it:

Men tend to multiply duties in their observance of religion. This practice enables them to give me money, time, and work without yielding up to Me what I desire most – their hearts. Rules can be observed mechanically. Once they become habitual, they can be followed with minimal effort and almost no thought. These habit-forming rules provide a false sense of security, lulling the soul into a comatose condition.

We are busy in our family. 4 kids, and MANY sports. Soccer has taken us away from many weekend services. I have tried to instill into my kids that their walk with God takes place in their rooms when they spend time with Christ, not when they go to church. I have tried to avoid having them feel a false sense of security in marking “Church” off of their weekly to-do list.

Church is good for fellowship, connection with community, worship in a community setting. It is not good for intimacy with Christ in your daily life. How can it be? It is one hour a week? Just doesn’t make sense to put going to church above spending quality time with Christ daily.

