Tags

,

Learn to appreciate difficult days. Be stimulated by the challenges you encounter along your way. As you journey through rough terrain with Me, gain confidence from your knowledge that together we can handle anything. This knowledge is comprised of three parts: your relationship with Me, promises in the Bible, and past experiences of coping successfully during hard times.

Today’s devotion speaks of acknowledgement of Christ helping you through rough patches in your life in the past, and not forgetting those moments when the times get rough.  Christ has been there, guiding you even though you didn’t realize it at the time.

It is difficult to see clearly when you are going through the trial. Sarah is saying that it is beneficial to look back and notice that He has brought you through ANYTHING that has come your way in the past.

It is the difficult times that cause you to grow. Without trials, you would never have confidence in the relationship. It is the same in a marriage. You will never know the strength of the marriage until the relationship is tested. When you make it through, on the other side you can see that the trial has passed, and you are still there. After that, you are able to say, “We made it through successfully.” Without that experience, you cannot have the same confidence.

I am not at a point where I appreciate the difficult days. I believe Paul got there. In Philippians 4, the speaks of being content regardless of his circumstances:

11 I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12 I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13 I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

Paul came to a point where he realized that the difficult times (and there were MANY with Paul) allowed God’s grace to be more apparent in his situation.

In my life, rough times come and go. I have a tendency to feel sorrow for myself during the times of trial instead of having an attitude of appreciation.

It would seem that because I can blog about it, I would be able to see from an arial view when trials come and rise above the situation to see the big picture. Well, I’m telling you that I’m not there yet.

How do I get there? Continuing to get the Word of God into my heart, continuing my daily quiet time, continue having a soft heart toward God, 5+5 – at least five minutes per day with the two most important people in my life: God and Tammy. It is a journey. I tend to end many of my blogs with the “journey” note. That is what it is. A journey of never arriving, but enjoying the ride along the way.

