Tags

, , , , ,

I wanted to take a step back this morning, and look at  things from a arial view…

We go through this life, facing trials, temptations, and troubles (3 Ts) under our own strength because that is all we know. Some of us are optimistic which helps them see the other side in the fight. Others are more realists which helps them question everything in the troubles. Regardless, both fight under their own strength. Unless they are able to get a sense of something greater than what they are able to see, they will have many unanswered questions throughout their lives.

Enter God, and His Word…

God not only wants us to look to Him in times of the 3 Ts, He takes the entire landscape of them, and turns them into opportunities to showcase His faithfulness to assist us. Scriptures reflect this:

Isaiah 40:30-31 – Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Psalm 119:50 – Remember your promise to me, for it is my only hope. Your promise revives me; it comforts me in all my troubles.

Psalm 23:1-4 – The LORD is my shepherd; I have everything I need. He lets me rest in green meadows; he leads me beside peaceful streams. He renews my strength. He guides me along right paths, bringing honor to his name. Even when I walk through the dark valley of death, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.

All of a sudden, the 3 Ts take on another perspective in our lives. Many of us are familiar with stories about the great inventor Edison, learning through his failures and using them to push him forward, or the business literature that talks about utilizing failures as fuel to spur you to greater heights.

As as follower of God, the 3 Ts take on a whole new meaning. God showcases His strength through them. This is one of the most difficult (if not THE most difficult) aspect of following God. It takes time for one to live this principle out. Why? Because it is quite difficult to sense God’s presence in our lives, working through the 3 Ts to chisel us to be more like Him.

God uses the 3 Ts in our lives to “awake” us. As things go good for us, we tend to not depend on God as much. The 3 Ts show us that we are unable to handle life alone and be successful. Following God is the ONLY way to true peace and joy.

Sarah Young, in her book “Jesus Calling”, has a wonderful idea in her January 4 devotion entry. She says to say “I trust You, Jesus” in response to whatever happens to you. Think about this, no matter what happens to you today, the FIRST thing you do is to whisper to yourself, “I trust You, Jesus”. By becoming a habit in your life, this will acknowledge that you are not in control of your life, but Christ is there to work through you to bring good to the situation at hand.

Following God is not about traversing life without the 3 Ts. It is about denying yourself and committing to be a follower of God REGARDLESS of what happens, knowing that He has your back, He will grow you through the issue at hand.

 

