Tags

, , , , , , ,

Today’s devotion is based on what Jesus said as recorded in the book of Matthew:

But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.  Matthew 6:20-21

Jesus said to store up for yourselves treasures in heaven. What an interesting concept,  storing up treasures in heaven. This indicates that things can be built up in heaven. A note of building things in heaven that can be used in the future.

Sarah (Sarah Young – Jesus Calling Devotional) takes this and expounds on it. She mentions that when you affirm your trust in Christ, you put money into Christ’s treasury that can be used at a later time. She says that what you store up in heaven, God compounds the interest continually, so it actually grows. Also, she mentions that we should practice trusting Christ during the quiet days, then when the storms come your trust balance will be sufficient to see you through.

A couple days ago (January 4), she begins the daily devotion on the subject of trust which she continues for some days. On that day, she makes a recommendation to say “I trust You, Jesus” in response to whatever happens to you. Today, I believe she expounds on it further by mentioning the impact of doing this can have in your life.

Since January 4th, I have tried during the day to say “I trust You, Jesus” during the day at any crossroad I come across. When doing so, I often wonder the impact this is having. On the January 4th devotion, she mentions that in doing so, it will help me see Christ in every situation, acknowledging God’s sovereignty over my life as well as the universe.

Today’s devotion allows me to see the simple act of acknowledging God at my crossroads in another light. By saying that, I am storing up a small treasure in heaven. This takes the simple act of saying “I trust You, Jesus” to a whole new level.

  • On the outside, it tells me that by saying that at the crossroad, I begin to open up my life to Christ, giving Him access to everything.
  • On a deeper level though, it tells me that by putting my trust in Christ more, I will store up a treasure in heaven that grows to be more than what was deposited. This balance of trust will be there when I REALLY need it in life.

So many times, God is used by believers as a vending machine. God gets blamed by so many for allowing the bad times to occur in their lives. They do not bow their entire lives to God, yet He gets the blame when bad things happen.

By trusting God in the quiet days, we begin to lean on Christ’s strength and wisdom, building a life that leans on Him. We learn that sin separates ourselves from Him and begin to do good things … not to earn His love, but because of who He is. This is the beginning of living a victorious live in Christ. By victorious, I mean a life of true peace and joy that can ONLY come from bowing our entire lives to Christ.

 

