Tags

, , , , ,

Every now and then, I like to sit back and take a landscape look at things, an arial view. I believe it is good to take a step back from the day-to-day and ask some questions that need to be asked:

  • What am I doing here?
  • Am I making a difference?
  • Am I drawing closer to His Presence, or stepping the other way?
  • What could I do to  be more in tune with His Presence?

After reading Sarah Young’s devotion – Jesus Calling for almost a year now, my beliefs have been altered in what is important in the life of a believer. She has brought attention to Christ’s Presence as one of the more important things of the day. His Presence is attainable, and Christ desires to have deep relationship with us.

In John 15, Christ talks about the need for us to stay connected with him just as the branch needs to stay connected with the vine. Christ is using an analogy to further our understanding of what He is saying. The branch receives nutrients and water from the vine. Without this, it withers off and dies. The branch is where the fruit is produced. so in order to have fruit, the branch must stay connected.

How does that look in my daily life? How can I see myself staying connected to the vine? This answer is different for everyone, and the answer is not the point … Are you connected? Am I connected? It is an important question to ask. The priority we should place on being connected is so high, other things in my life should be second to that.

 

