Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday’s devotion was good, really good, life-changing good. I’ll share from some of it:

Make friends with the problems in your life. Though many things feel random and wrong, remember that I am sovereign over everything. I can fit everything into a pattern for good, but only to the extent that you trust Me. Every problem can teach you something, transforming you little by little into the masterpiece I created you to be.

The best way to befriend your problems is to thank Me for them. This simple act opens your mind to the possibility of benefits flowing from your difficulties. You can even give persistent problems nicknames, helping you to approach them with  familiarity rather than with dread. The next step is to introduce them to Me enabling Me to embrace them in My loving Presence. I will not necessarily remove your problems, but My wisdom is sufficient to bring good out of every one of them.  [Sarah Young; Jesus Calling; pp 68]

Why do I find this so good? Because if adhered to, it has the possibility of dragging me out of my self-pity when trouble starts, and bring God onto the scene.

Those of us that have been believers know that God does indeed have a way of taking seemingly terrible situations in our life and turning them around to be good. The issue is that many times this takes time. We do not like waiting though. If this doesn’t ring true in your life then you may have some more waiting to do, God’s promises are true though.

Many times, my problems sneak up on me and I don’t consciously realize they are there for a while. It isn’t that I don’t know they are there, it is that I don’t see them as problems for awhile. This is where I need to change. I need to live Jeremiah 6:16 and realize where a crossroad is in my life.

Sarah brings out some rather interesting concepts in this reading. Name your problems. This is a great idea. Give a situation a particular name that you repeatedly have issue with and use that name in prayer to Christ as you give it to Him. This will further engrave the intimacy between you and Christ.

Introduce the problem to Christ. This is another area where I fail. I do not give my problems to Christ (yet). I wear them for a bit then realize that I should give this issue to Christ and let Him worry about it.

Jesus loves me, He desires to ease my burden, He wants me to succeed, He hurts when I hurt, He all but begs me to come to Him but give me the freedom to do what I want because He knows that freedom of choice leads to true worship. The God I serve is so wonderful, it is impossible to put mere words down to share what my heart feels. Here’s to trying.

