Tags

, , , , ,

“Even if God takes away, He will still guide you”.  – Steve Farrar

This was heard yesterday at a men’s meeting. Even though He takes us out of our comfort zone, or removes from us what we are depending on, or seemingly removes from us something or someone we need, He promises to guide us:

For what is God like. He is our God forever and ever, and He will guide us until we die. Psalm 48:14

Why is this difficult to understand, don’t we as parents do the same? I remove things from my children that are precious to them when they are punished. Doesn’t mean that my thoughts toward them change, I still love them. Matter of fact, there is more proof that I love them because of the punishment.

A couple of concepts need to be understood here.

  1. God removes us out of our comfort zone because He understands where true peace and happiness is and always drives us there. I call it “wake up time”. He is trying to get our attention and even though we cannot see good coming out of the situation, He always has a way of turning it into good. Hasn’t He done this in the past in your life? Hasn’t He proven Himself to you in everything you have gone through?
  2. We believe God is against us because we are always screwing up. He isn’t punishing us because of what we have done. God doesn’t accept us / love us / desire to help us  because of our deeds. He does it because of our acceptance of Christ, and the work on the cross. Our good deeds do nothing to bring us closer to Him, just as my kids good deeds do nothing to cause me to love them more. I love them regardless of what they do.

That being said, there is a condition:

“Don’t expect blessings from God if you are actively hiding sin in your heart.” – Steve Farrar

“If I had not confessed the sin in my heart, the Lord would have not listened”. Psalm 66:18

Unconfessed sin separates us from intimacy with God. This is heavy stuff. If I am selfishly sinning, hiding it from God, He has reason to withhold blessing from me. The law of sowing and reaping is at play there (Galatians 6:6-9).

