Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m a believer, have been one for 30+ years. What I hope that doesn’t mean is that people KNOW I’m a Christian, but don’t see any difference in my life. I’m one of those guys that don’t talk about Christ very often, but desire to have Him show though my daily life – much more rewarding. Don’t get me wrong, if we sit down and begin talking, it would be difficult for me not to bring up who He is in my life. But if I don’t know you, I would seem like (hopefully) just another nice guy. Image

God is about relationship, just look through the bible and it is quite apparent. To dump the finality of someone’s eternal destiny without building a relationship is (to me) counterproductive. It took me over 28 years to really understand that God is more interested in maintaining an intimate relationship with me than what I “do” for Him, or what I give Him, or what I sacrifice for Him. When I prioritized my relationship with Him (mainly by spending quiet time, daily), that is when things began to really change.

He is the first thing I think of in the morning, usually. The first thing I do (after coffee of course) is sit down and devote some time to God. Why do I do this? Maybe because of the change that has happened in my life since I began to really get serious about it. God has become more than a book on my shelf, He has become the MAIN book on the shelf. Throughout the day, I turn to Him whereas in the past I could have gone a week and not really given Him much thought till sitting back at church.

