Tags

, , , , ,

Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. Philippians 2:3

What does this look like in my everyday life? I want to dive into this a bit today and see if there are some insights causing change in my day, life.

Paul brings up something here that is basically telling us that we need to think of others as being better than yourself. That is a tough commission when someone cuts me off in traffic, or leaves the buggy in the parking lot when the place where it goes it literally 15 feet away (I hate that).

Actually, I find it most difficult at times to think of some people better than myself. I have some growing to do. This is one of the things that causes me to truly believe in Christ. I know he always thought of others more than himself when walking the earth. The impossibility of doing so at all times is one of the things that lead me to believe he was God’s son.

I use this in business, although care must be taken to be sincere, otherwise it is simple manipulation. When meeting someone, I ask questions about them, stop, and listen. If they ask about me, I turn it around and get them talking until something they talk about shines a light in their eyes, I know I have them. If they have kids, that will usually do it, otherwise a spouse or hobby. Works every time. Why? Because I am esteeming them better than myself. Doing so creates relationship, builds trust, and establishes intimacy.

I awoke this morning thinking about quiet time with Christ, why it is so valuable and necessary in my life. Sarah Young opened my eyes to this in reading her devotion “Jesus Calling” throughout last year. I have made quiet time part of most days and it is incredible the difference in intimacy with Christ I am experiencing.

Sitting there quietly, waiting, shutting up, thinking of Christ, being thankful – does something to you. Perhaps, I am esteeming Him better than myself .. that may offer an explanation as to where the change comes from.

