Ego is my weakness. It gets in the way of a Christ-centered life. It is the opposite of thinking of others more precious than myself.

Let nothing be done through selfish ambition or conceit, but in lowliness of mind let each esteem others better than himself. Philippians 2:3

It bit me again. I went toe-to-toe with a business associate because I “thought” that person was attempting to “smooze” me. In hindsight, I should have dropped it and kept the mission of the business at the front of my actions. I should have treated that person as better than myself, but I made him aware that I knew what was REALLY going on.

This is difficult task to esteem others, especially when others are taking advantage of you. It was a test, and the outcome is that I lowered myself to that person’s level, appearing unprofessional. Hindsight is truly 20/20. Think before hitting the “send” button of that composed email.

That is the troubling story, I have another with a different outcome. The other night my son was outside playing basketball in the back driveway with a couple of friends. It was around 10pm, they weren’t making a lot of noise, and it was a Saturday night. He came in and told my wife and I that a neighbor 2 doors down came and told them that they need to shut it down, it was too late to be making so much noise. I asked him if they were making a lot of noise, and he verified that they were just shooting the ball. I sent him back and listened to make sure they weren’t making a lot of noise.

The neighbor then called the cops and they drove by the alley and told the boys that they received a complaint and needed to shut it down.

My wife and I were livid. What gives the neighbor the right to talk to my kid, then call the cops for just bouncing a ball and 10pm. Immediately I wanted to knock on their door and confront them, then had the idea of mailing them an advertisement of “noise makers” for the home. Their home must be SUPER QUIET to hear a bouncing ball two doors down.

In the end, we did nothing and in the morning we both felt more calm and decided just to let it go – something I wish I would have done in the first scenario above.

When you feel you have been taken advantage of, before acting out, take a nap or better yet sleep on it. After that, it never seems as bad as it was.

