Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Watching Survivor last night, it floored me when I heard a particular contestant say  through tears “My father has never written me.” This was after she spent all of her money ($500) on a letter from home in an auction during one of the show’s games. She read the note from her father out loud through tears. He encouraged her and affirmed her.

It truly impacted me. I have 4 children and the impact that an affirming father has on his children is enormous! It challenged me to step up to the plate even more and be that Godly foundation my kids need so badly.

I wrote my daughter (then 13) a small note on some flowers I gave her one Valentine’s day. She kept the note, framed it and it is still in her room – 4 years ago. I was surprised to see the note there, but was reminded again the incredible importance of affirming her.

I believe this is one of the major issues in today’s society, fathers not leading their families and children in a Godly way. Many men seem to have misdirected priorities. Daughters especially need to be affirmed by their fathers. If the father doesn’t step up, some young man will affirm her, and may not have her best interests at heart.

I dislike that particular Survivor contestant, but I believe God used her to speak to me last night.

Don’t misunderstand what I’m saying, I’m not the perfect father and I know it. Children aren’t expecting perfection. They can look past issues that occur in life if they know they are accepted and loved.

