Tags

, , , , , , ,

This past year I uncovered something that I find quite valuable in my walk with God. I’ve been a Christian for over 30 years, yet never understood this gem.

When I would have time with God in the past, I would read the Bible at times – many times reading it just to be able to check off a list. There is a difference between reading a book for understanding and reading to check off a list. At times I would pray. During my prayer time, I would usually verbally pray, maybe pray nonverbally. Other times I would speak in tongues. When I prayed, I always DID something. It was unusual for me just to sit there and do nothing in my quiet time.

This past year, mostly due to Sarah Young’s devotion “Jesus Calling”, I have uncovered a new meaning of quiet time and it has made such a difference in my life. Quiet time becomes true quiet time. Shutting down and stopping activity, thoughts, actions for a moment.

If you think this is easy, then you have never tried to do it. It takes tenacity, but the benefits are so worth it.

Here are some scriptures reflecting either being still, or early morning time with God:

Exodus 14:14   The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.

Psalm 5:3  In the morning, LORD, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait expectantly.

Psalm 37:7   Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret when people succeed in their ways, when they carry out their wicked schemes.

Psalm 46:10  He says, “Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Psalm 90:14  Satisfy us in the morning with your unfailing love, that we may sing for joy and be glad all our days.

Lamentations 3:22-24  Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,  for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness. I say to myself, “The LORD is my portion; therefore I will wait for him.”

Mark 1:35Very early in the morning, while it was still dark, Jesus got up, left the house and went off to a solitary place, where he prayed.

How could I have been following God all those years without realizing that God wanted me to have true quiet time? I understand that those who read my blogs see repetitious postings on this subject quite frequently. I write about what I’m passionate about, and I can’t seem to shake this one easily. There is just too much to gain from stopping your day and being available for God.

Here is a list of things He has done for me when giving quiet time:

  • restored what has been taken away, this could be peace, removal of stress, etc
  • gives peace – true internal peace regardless of circumstances
  • allow me to see things from another perspective
  • guides in decisions, tasks, priorities
  • instructs me in decisions
  • allow me to forgive when you never thought it was impossible
  • give me  joy – true joy, works on the hard part(s) of my heart,
