Tags

, , , , ,

My wife calls me at work to tell me she was heading to the hospital for a blood clot in her ovarian vein. If it dislodged and got to her lungs … death. I got up to tell my manager I had to head out early and the reason why and he told me that he and the VP of Engineering wanted to meet me in the conference room. Laid off. What a day! I had been employed at this point 12 straight years out of college. I literally  felt like the bottom was falling out of my life.

Happy are those that hear the joyful call to worship, for they will walk in the light of Your presence, Lord. Psalm 89:15

The bible refers to the presence of God as the light of Your presence. This is the one thing I search after today. It is my highest priority. It doesn’t come quickly and easily, but it is always there for me when I seek it. It is quite difficult to articulate in words, but I pursue it more than any other thing in this world.

Why? Because it is completely beyond me. It is nothing I can come close to creating. It is bigger than me and worth anything to get it. If you’ve never had it, you are on the outside. If you have, then deep inside we connect with the knowing of exactly what I’m talking about.

Of course it is beyond me. He is God! It better be WAY beyond me! God doesn’t let me down here. It is so wonderful that it is difficult to explain the internal peace and joy I obtain in the Presence of God. It is not only there during the calm times of your life. God isn’t that small. It can be there during the worst day. Like the day I started this blog with.

Looking back at that day (about 10 years ago), I can easily say that I have never felt the Presence of God in my life as much since. It may be because I had nothing else to hold onto, but God came through, big! I wouldn’t trade it for anything. It is so precious to me.

