Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I grew up a Christian, well I became a believer when I was 14 and have sought a relationship with my Creator since. Through those 30+ years, I have walked two paths:

  • Doing things to please Him
  • Understanding that nothing I can do can earn His acceptance

This is what Paul was talking about in Titus:

He saved us, not because of the righteous things we had done, but because of His mercy. He washed away our sins, giving us a new birth and new life through the Holy Spirit. Titus 3:5

Nothing I do can draw me one inch closer to God. I am brought near to God by one simple act: Acceptance of Christ and His work on the cross. What a relief! My actions are no longer necessary to have me walk with God. My actions are a result of what God has done for me, not to bring me closer to Him.

There is another side of the coin (there always is). My sinful actions create a separation from God, and God doesn’t push Himself on us (Revelations 3:20). He stands at the door of our heart and gently knocks.

Those of us that realize this are in for a wonderful journey. The world has ways of surviving without a relationship with God, we see it all the time. Those that do not follow God look happy, content and put together at times. What is missing is the fact that they are building their lives on a foundation that is not solid.

Here I go again, trying to describe what following God is like in words. Difficult at best. Usually in blogging, I come here and my heart is so full of the wonderful things that God provides in my life, it is simply impossible to get the words together to reflect what my heart feels. Today, I’ll finish by quoting a scripture from Paul that most closely reflects it:

When I think of all this, I fall to my knees and pray to the Father,the Creator of everything in heaven and on earth. I pray that from His glorious, unlimited resources He will empower you with inner strength through His Spirit. Then Christ will make his home in your hearts as you trust in Him. Your roots will grow down into God’s love and keep you strong. And may you have the power to understand, as all God’s people should, how wide, how long, how high, and how deep His love is. May you experience the love of Christ, though it is too great to understand fully. Then you will be made complete with all the fullness of life and power that comes from God. Ephesians 3:14-19

