Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

THANK ME IN THE MIDST of the crucible. When things seem all wrong, look for growth opportunities. Especially, look for areas where you need to let go, leaving your cares in My able hands. Do you trust Me to orchestrate your life events as I choose, or are you still trying to make things go according to your will? If you keep trying to carry out your intentions while I am leading you in another direction, you deify your desires. Be on the lookout for what I am doing in your life. Worship Me by living close to Me, thanking Me in all circumstances.

Young, Sarah (2004-10-12). Jesus Calling: Seeking Peace in His Presence (p. 142). Thomas Nelson. Kindle Edition.

This devotion entry today is just what I DIDN”T want to read. I tend to take my problems, own them, and try to solve them by myself before I give them to God. It is a habit that I’ve done all my life.

This different view is something that I long to accomplish in my life. I know Christ wants me to give my problems over to Him, all of my problems, but here are some insights into why I don’t:

  1. I don’t trust Him. If I truly trusted that Christ was who He said He was, then I’d turn to Him when things turned in my life. I would immediately give Him my stress, worries, issues and shortcomings. I turn to Him eventually, all the time, but it isn’t the first thing that I do. I want to mull over them a bit first. The scriptures are CLEAR regarding this, especially 1 Peter 5:6-7 “Humble yourselves therefore, under God’s mighty hand, that he may lift you up in due time. Cast all your anxiety on Him because he cares for you.”
  2. I don’t want to give up control. To trust Christ is to not trust yourself. I still trust that I’m the best source for the solution. Deep inside I know that I am not, but it is a different story when an issue arises.
  3. I feel more comfortable when I’m in control of the issue at hand. This comes down to truly walking with God. I need to come to the realization in my heart that I am not the best person to control my life. I need to completely trust Christ because He is the true giver of peace and joy. I talk a good talk, but walking it out is a different story.

Thinking back, it all comes down to who Christ is in my life. Do I make Him what I say I make Him, really? Do I really know that following Him is the best way for EACH step in my life? Do I really believe that He can take much better care of me than I can?

At times, I know this in my heart, but not all of the time. I still have times when I’m distant in my relationship with Him, I want to control the situations and not give it to Him.

This is an awakening for me today. Thanks Sarah for the unending insight.

 

