Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been thinking about my last post and have done a bit of research. I know that I connect with God in the morning and was wondering about pushing this to others. I found a scripture regarding this, but found another scripture that reflects the priority of seeking God:

In the morning, O Lord, you hear my voice; in the morning I lay my requests before you and wait in expectation.Psalm 5:3

Here we see David specifically mentioning that he sought God in the morning. David had a heart after God’s own heart and he prioritized things so that he gave time in the morning.

Another scripture that comes to mind is when Jesus was tested by an expert in the law asking the question: “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?” Jesus’ response was the following:

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: Love your neighbour as yourself. Matthew 22:37-38

So, if we love something with all of our heart, soul and mind, I believe it is safe to say that we give it priority. That comes first in our lives but how does that play out day by day? When we get up in the morning, our thoughts ought to be on time with God for no other reason other than Jesus said that the greatest commandment was to love God with everything. When we get up as late as possible only to dive into our day, watch the news, read our emails, begin our work, etc., I believe it is sending a clear message on what is most important.

Following is a link I came across specifying steps to take when spending time with God. It is a wonderful guide for those beginning and those who have been walking with God for awhile.

http://www.sabbathfellowship.org/sermonstuff/gregg_methodology.pdf

Our relationship with God is important. We were created to seek God and we will not be inwardly fulfilled until we do this. The degree we succeed at following God is the degree that we encounter peace and joy in our lives. Why? Because just as Paul wrote in Romans 12:2 – We are transformed by the renewing of our minds. God as a way of changing us to become different people. What a wonderful journey!

Just this morning, Sarah’s devotion started: “Meet me in early splendor. I eagerly await you here. In the stillness of this holy time for Me, I renew your strength and saturate you with Peace.”

